Spain and France lock horn in the UEFA Nations League Final on Sunday night, 10 October,2021 as Kylian Mbappe’s 80 minutes goal saw France clinch the title.
Spain took the lead in the 64th minute of the game before Karim Benzema lift a curling strike to level up the game two minutes later.
With Mbappe’s 80th-minutes controversial winning goal saw the difference of the game as it ended 2-1 in favour of France.
At first look, he appeared offside before kicking the ball past the Spain goalkeeper, Unai Simon.
Why Mbappe’s 80th-minutes goal was allowed?
At first, the goal was protested by many Spanish players and official but unfortunately the referee allowed it to stand.
According to the referee, he claimed Mbappe was offside before recieving the pass but said defender Eric Garcia’s touch of the ball as he tried to intercept the pass was enough to put the attacker onside.
Spain captain Sergio Busquets has termed the referee explanation after the game as one that “doesn’t make sense”.
What the Spanish Players has to say
“To us on the field it (the second goal) looked offside,” Busquets told El Chiringuito TV. “The referee told us that since Eric tried to play the ball, the offside was cancelled, but that doesn’t make sense.
“He just tried to intercept the ball, he didn’t play it and lose control of it.”
“It was clearly offside. The referee told me that I tried to play the ball. What should I do? Step aside and let him run? Apparently, this is the rule.” – Garcia added.
Jamie Redknapp’s view on the goal
Sky Sports pundit Jamie Redknapp said: “It’s a really hard one to understand because from Spain’s point of view, you’re trying to keep a good line. Mbappe has got incredible pace but he gets the timing of his run wrong. It’s the slightest of touches from Garcia.
“What the rules say is that it then becomes a second phase of play but what is Garcia supposed to do? Is he meant to just let it go even though he doesn’t know what’s behind him?
“You can see from the moment Theo Hernandez plays the ball, he’s definitely offside. But because of this delicate touch from Garcia, it’s a new phase of play. But for me it isn’t. It’s a really poor interpretation of the rule. I don’t like it and it feels unfair.
“It’s the slightest touch. It’s not like he’s tried to play it back to his goalkeeper. As a defence, you keep a good line and you have to somehow get a touch on it. If he put his flag up, no one would’ve asked any questions.
“It’s so contentious. We want to see goals in football, of course we do. We’re crying out for VAR to give more goals but this one feels really unfortunate for Spain in my point of view. I do feel sorry for the officials.
“It’s not VAR’s fault… it’s the rule. It’s been around for around 18 months this interpretation but I don’t feel we’ve seen enough examples of it in big games for it to be such a talking point but it’s certainly won a final today so it’ll become a talking point now for sure.”
Comments below your point of view from the goal.